Can I have my ball back, Mister? – Een ode aan het oude voetbalwereldje

Can I have my ball back, Mister?
I want to stand, not sit,
Nor advertise some oligarch
On a redesigned replica kit

Can I have my ball back, Mister?
And rise above the tripe
Of multinational money-men
And dodgy agents’ hype?

Can I have my ball back, Mister?
And I’ll rebrand the sport,
To substitute the sheiks and fakes
Who count but don’t support.

Can I have my ball back, Mister?
I’ll launder their ordure,
To launch it in the hellish pit
Of Lucifer’s manure.

Can I have my ball back, Mister?
What arrogance, what shame,
What cynic stole such innocence?
I want another game.

Dermot Carney

Geef een reactie

